Medical Direction


OhioHealth EMS has multiple resources and partners, including experienced, board certified emergency physicians and EMS physician medical directors, educators, subject matter experts, operational specialists, and others.

In a collaborative partnership between OhioHealth EMS, our physician medical directors, EMS organizations, first responders, emergency medical services, fire services, and law enforcement, WE help ensure patient safety and quality care through continual communications, access to resources, progressive standards of care guidelines, traditional and experiential learning, and best-practice operational guidance.

Together we can create a total package of clinical, educational and operational resources for EMS and EMD organizations.

Please contact us to learn more about the benefits of partnering with OhioHealth EMS for medical direction.

EMS Medical Directors

Deepi Bathini, MD
Associate Medical Director for Community Paramedicine
OhioHealth EMS, Operations Division

Paul Been, MD
Medical Director
Harlem Township Fire, Galena, OH

Joe Bocka, MD
Medical Director
Central Ohio EMS Training, Lucas, OH
Jefferson Township Fire Department, Bellville, OH
Mansfield Fire Department, Mansfield, OH
Mifflin Twp Fire Department, Mansfield, OH
Monroe Township Fire Department, Lucas, OH
Shelby Fire Department, Shelby, OH
Springfield Township Fire Department, Mansfield, OH
Troy Township Fire Department, Lexington, OH

John R Casey, DO
Medical Director
Critical Care Transport, Columbus, OH
Harmony Township Fire Department, Vienna, OH
Hustead EMS, Springfield, OH
London Fire Department, London, OH
Madison Township Fire Department, South Charleston, OH
Moorefield Township Fire Department, Springfield, OH
Ohio Fire Academy, Reynoldsburg, OH
Pitchen-Green Township Fire Department, Springfield, OH
Pleasant Township Fire Department, Catawba, OH
Pleasant Valley Joint Fire District, Plain City, OH
Springfield Township Fire Department, Springfield, OH
Tolles Career and Technical Center, Plain City, OH

Victor C. Cachapero Jr., DO
Medical Director
Franklin Township Fire , Shelby OH

Eric J Cortez, MD
Medical Director
Hollywood Casino, Columbus, OH
Jackson Township Fire Department, Grove City, OH
Liberty Township Fire Department, Raymond, OH
Madison Township Fire, Groveport OH
Mt. Sterling EMS, Mt. Sterling, OH
North East Champaign County Fire District, North Lewisburg, OH
Norwich Township Fire Department, Hilliard, OH
Ohio Fire Chiefs Association, Worthington, OH
Ohio State Fair, Columbus, OH
Pleasant Township Fire Department, Grove City, OH
Prairie Township Fire Department, Columbus, OH
Scioto Township Fire Department, Commercial Point, OH
Tri-County Joint Fire District, Mt. Sterling, OH

System EMS Medical Director

Nicholas Davakis, MD
Associate Medical Director for Cardiology
OhioHealth EMS, Event Medicine Division
OhioHealth EMS, Operations Division
OhioHealth EMS, Outreach Education Division

Ann Dietrich, MD
Medical Director
OhioHealth EMS, EMS Education Division

Associate Medical Director for Pediatrics
OhioHealth EMS, Event Medicine Division
OhioHealth EMS, Operations Division
OhioHealth EMS, Outreach Education Division

Natalie Ferretti, MD
Assistant Medical Director
Jackson Township Fire Department, Grove City

Alice Frazier, DO
Medical Director
Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, Lexington OH

Paul W Gabriel, MD, FACEP
Medical Director
Bensen Fire and Safety, Delaware, OH
Delaware Fire Department, Delaware OH
Washington Township Fire Department, Dublin, OH

Thomas J Gavin, MD
Medical Director
Genoa Township Fire Department, Galena, OH

Andrew Kalnow, DO
Medical Director
New Lexington Fire Department, New Lexington, OH

Associate Medical Director
OhioHealth EMS, Outreach Education Division

Erika Kube, MD
Medical Director
Big Walnut Joint Fire District, Marengo, OH
Cardington Fire, Cardington, OH
Concord Township Fire, Delaware OH
Green Camp Township Fire, Green Camp, OH
Iberia Joint Fire District, Galion, OH
Johnsville Fire, Mt Gilead, OH
Liberty Township Fire, Powell, OH
Morrow County EMS, Mt Gilead, OH
Mt Gilead Fire Department, Mt Gilead, OH
Scioto Valley FIre District, La Rue, OH

Robert Lowe, MD
Medical Director
Columbus Division of Fire, Columbus, OH
Franklin Township Fire Department, Columbus, OH
Jefferson Township Fire Department, Grove City, OH

System EMS Medical Director

Urmil B. Pandya, MD
Associate Medical Director for Trauma

OhioHealth EMS, Event Medicine Division
OhioHealth EMS, Operations Division
OhioHealth EMS, Outreach Education Division

Patrick R McKenna, DO
Medical Director
Columbus Zoo and Aquarium, Powell, OH

Gwen Millesen, MD
Medical Director
Athens County EMS, Athens, OH

Brad Raetzke, MD
Medical Director
Hamilton Township Fire Department, Obetz, OH
MedCare Ambulance, Columbus, OH

Assistant Medical Director

Medical Advisory Board
Upper Arlington Fire Department, Upper Arlington OH

Paul Robinson, MD
Medical Director
Battle Run Fire Department, Prospect, OH
First Consolidated Fire Department, Caledonia, OH
Ft. Morrow Fire Department, Waldo, OH
Green Camp Township Fire Department, Green Camp, OH.
Marion City Township Fire Department, Marion, OH
Marion Township Fire Dept, Marion, OH
New Vision Fire and Rescue, Marion, OH
Pleasant Township Fire Department, Marion, OH
Scioto Valley Fire Department, LaRue, OH
Tri-Rivers Career Center, Marion, OH

Danni Schneider, DO
Medical Director
Circleville Fire Department, Circleville OH
Circleville Police Department, Circleville OH
Clearcreek Township Fire Department, Stoutsville OH
Harrison Township Fire Department, Ashville OH
Pickaway County Sheriff’s Department, Circleville OH
Pickaway Township Fire Department, Circleville OH
Saltcreek-Tarlton Fire Department, Tarlton OH

Mark Seher, DO
Medical Director
Washington Township Fire, Mansfield OH

Ryan Squier, MD
Medical Director
Buckeye Link Ambulance, Sunbury OH
Memorial EMS, Columbus, OH
South Western Ambulance, Columbus, OH

Nicholas R Van Malderen, DO
Medical Director
Hanover Township Fire Department, Newark, OH

Warren K Yamarick, MD
Medical Director
Orange Township Fire Department, Delaware, OH

ACEP Statement

Excerpt from the American College of Emergency Physicians policy statement regarding Medical Control of Pre-hospital Emergency Medical Services:

“The American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) believes that all aspects of the organization and provision of basic (including first responder) and advanced life support emergency medical services (EMS) require the active involvement and participation of physicians. ACEP also believes that EMS must have an identifiable physician medical director at the local, regional and state level.

“The primary role of the medical director is to ensure quality patient care. Responsibilities include involvement with the ongoing design, operation, evaluation and revision of the EMS system from initial patient access to definitive patient care.

“Each EMS system should ensure that the medical director has authority over patient care, authority to limit immediately the patient care activities of those who deviate from established standards or do not meet training standards, and the responsibility and authority to develop and implement medical policies and procedures.

“The EMS medical director’s qualifications, responsibilities and authority must be delineated in writing within each EMS system. Ideally, the EMS medical director will be a board-certified emergency physician. The EMS system has an obligation to provide the EMS medical director with the resources, authority and compensation commensurate with these responsibilities.”

Horizontal Line Break Orange

Additional Information

Online: Contact Us
Telephone: (614) 566.9111